Euro 2024: BBC to show first two England games, ITV to broadcast Germany v Scotland

Euro 2024: BBC to show first two England games, ITV to broadcast Germany v Scotland

Dec 7, 2023
Players of Italy celebrate with the trophy after winning the UEFA Euro 2020
Italy beat England on penalties to win Euro 2020

The BBC will show England’s first two group games at Euro 2024 and ITV will broadcast the opening match between Germany and Scotland.

England, finalists at Euro 2020, will take on Serbia and Denmark before their final Group C meeting with Slovenia, which will be on ITV.

Hosts Germany face Scotland on 14 June.

Scotland’s other Group A matches – against Switzerland and Hungary – will be shown on the BBC.

If Wales qualify for the tournament via March’s play-offs, the BBC will show their group games against France and the Netherlands.

The BBC will have first choice for the quarter-finals, while ITV will have the first pick of the last-16 ties and semi-finals.

Both broadcasters will show the final.

One of the most anticipated group matches – three-time winners Spain against reigning champions Italy in Group B – will be on ITV.

The BBC will show France, World Cup runners up last year, against 1988 European champions the Netherlands in Group D.

“With the Uefa European Championship, the Paris Olympics and Wimbledon all on the BBC next year, our summer of sport promises to be very memorable,” said Philip Bernie, head of content at BBC Sport.

“We’re proud that the BBC will once again bring audiences comprehensive coverage and analysis of the whole event across TV, radio and online, ensuring fans, wherever they are, can enjoy it all.”

ITV director of sport Niall Sloane said: “We’re delighted to be able to bring viewers what should be a flying start to the tournament with the opening match between Scotland and the hosts.”

Uefa Euro 2024 group schedule

14 June: Germany v Scotland (20:00 BST) – ITV

15 June: Hungary v Switzerland (14:00) – ITV

15 June: Spain v Croatia (17:00) – ITV

15 June: Italy v Albania (20:00) – BBC

16 June: Play-off A winners* v Netherlands (14:00) – BBC

16 June: Slovenia v Denmark (17:00) – ITV

16 June: Serbia v England (20:00) – BBC

17 June: Romania v play-off B winners** (14:00) – BBC

17 June: Belgium v Slovakia (17:00) – ITV

17 June: Austria v France (20:00) – ITV

18 June: Turkey v play-off C winners*** (17:00) – BBC

18 June: Portugal v Czech Republic (20:00) – BBC

19 June: Croatia v Albania (14:00) – ITV

19 June: Germany v Hungary (17:00) – BBC

19 June: Scotland v Switzerland (20:00) – BBC

20 June: Slovenia v Serbia (14:00) – ITV

20 June: Denmark v England (17:00) – BBC

20 June: Spain v Italy (20:00) – ITV

21 June: Slovakia v play-off B winners (14:00) – BBC

21 June: Play-off A winners v Austria (17:00) – ITV

21 June: Netherlands v France (20:00) – BBC

22 June: Play-off C winners v Czech Republic (14:00) – BBC

22 June: Turkey v Portugal (17:00) – ITV

22 June: Belgium v Romania (20:00) – ITV

23 June: Switzerland v Germany (20:00) – BBC

23 June: Scotland v Hungary (20:00) – BBC

24 June: Albania v Spain (20:00) – BBC

24 June: Croatia v Italy (20:00) – BBC

25 June: Netherlands v Austria (17:00) – BBC

25 June: France v play-off A winners (17:00) – BBC

25 June: England v Slovenia (20:00) – ITV

25 June: Denmark v Serbia (20:00) – ITV

26 June: Slovakia v Romania (17:00) – BBC

26 June: Play-off B winners v Belgium (17:00) – BBC

26 June: Play-off C winners v Portugal (20:00) – ITV

26 June: Czech Republic v Turkey (20:00) – ITV

*Play-off A winners: Wales, Finland, Poland or Estonia

**Play-off B winners: Bosnia & Herzegovina, Ukraine, Israel or Iceland

***Play-off C winners: Georgia, Luxembourg, Greece or Kazakhstan

Everything you need to know about your Premier League team bannerBBC Sport banner footer


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *